If you’re going to call it ‘spiritual warfare’, don’t romanticize it

I’ve been talking with a few devout Christians lately, and have had a few start following my blogs. I was pleased to note that we could get along, and even have calm and rational discussions regarding our faiths. I find myself finding more similarities between us than differences, as a matter of fact.

 But one thing I noticed they seem to mention a lot when referring to Lu, or the antagonistic relationship that their god and my own has, is that the ‘war has already been won’. They place a lot of emphasis on the biblical prophecy that says my patron will be defeated (again). Although they may not say it directly, they imply that they are on the side that will claim victory, while Lu and his devotees will be defeated (and cast to Hell, one would presume). Now, clearly not all Christians have this sort of mindset, but it does seem to be prevalent even amongst the mild of the faith.

It seems like such a fixed concept—like our Work is such a lost cause. So what’s the point of all this if it won’t make a difference in the end?

The point is that it’s not about winning, but standing up for what we believe in.

Maybe it’s because the end goal of Christianity revolves around salvation and redemption, which necessitates the defeat of ‘evil’, that they seem to focus so heavily on treating Lu as an enemy, and our Work as a battleground.

And I would be lying if I said that Lu isn’t interested in ‘winning’. He’s a leader of a rebellion, for goodness sake. But its also not just about winning for the sake of winning—its not about overthrowing some god as a show of power or force. And it’s definitely not about taking away others’ faith, unlike the majority claim.

I don’t want to think of this as warfare. I don’t want to see Christians or the Christian faith as my enemy. And no, this isn’t me just trying to seem ‘holier than thou’, or trying to project my faith as being more loving or peaceful—my faith isn’t built on the foundation of love that theirs is, I would never argue that. I just don’t think they realize what the implications of morphing this into a battleground would entail. I’m sure no matter what ‘side’ you’re on, you’d think that your cause was the right one, that your side was the ‘good’ side. But the reality of war is that there isn’t a good side and a bad side. If you want to call it a war, you have to be willing to admit that there will be atrocities committed by both sides. And I suppose in that respect, I already do see it as a war, despite my resistance towards it.

I grew up with stories of war. My parents and their siblings fled their homeland because of a civil war. I grew up hearing about heads being mounted on pikes, and bodies being dumped in front of doorsteps as messages and warnings from both sides of the war. My family didn’t shield me from the grim reality of what they had experienced, but encouraged that I learn the full truth—not the sugar coated stories that made it seem as though the guerillas were the ‘good guys’. I heard about the forced recruitment of civilians into both the government army and the guerrilla army, and the horrors committed by both sides.

Fighting battles, or ‘spiritual warfare’, seems to be a rather romanticized image. We always think we are fighting for what’s ‘right’, what’s ‘good’. But treating another god or faith as the enemy doesn’t mean they’re automatically evil. Insulting my god and laying blame on him doesn’t mean your own is innocent. 

Just because I believe in Lu’s cause doesn’t mean I refuse to acknowledge the negative aspects of what his work entails. Even if we only see this as ‘spiritual warfare’, it doesn’t mean that ­­there is no harm being done. Everything comes with a consequence, no matter what side you’re on.

They accuse Lu of making them doubt, of planting the seeds of mistrust and disbelief in their heads about their faith and their god. I don’t deny this. I don’t deny that he can and will make them question their beliefs, just as he has made his devotees do so. Do I think he does this with malicious intentions, or as an attempt to gain converts to his cause? No. It isn’t about converting or gaining followers, it’s only about getting them to think for themselves, rather than relying on what they have been told. It’s about acknowledging that we have a choice—and some may willingly choose to honor the very god he rebelled against.

But that doesn’t excuse the harmful results of such questions. I cannot count how many times I’ve heard it said that ‘the devil targets you when you’re at your weakest’. I will not argue with that statement. Speaking as someone who had their world turned upside down when I was at my lowest, who had my faith shatter when I was at my weakest and needed it the most, I know only too well how traumatizing such doubts and questions can be. My path now is only the result of how I managed to piece back the shards of my spirituality, but I know that it was a very real possibility that that experience could have broken me completely.

I do not defend those actions, or make excuses for Lu. For the most part, those he targets have not chosen the path that I have—they have not chosen to have their faith and beliefs tested and tried, they did not ask for Lu to make them question their spiritual foundation. But you know what? Neither did I, at first. And it might be biased of me to say this, because I managed to emerge from these trials as a stronger person, but I do think there is some good that can come of Lu’s interference.

But not everyone will be able to rebuild their mangled faith. Some may have nothing left to rebuild. And I can only imagine the hate and distrust that would arise from such a situation—if Lu had broken the very faith that kept me going, and I hadn’t been able to emerge from that experience a better person, if I had nothing else to live for, I would loathe him and his actions. I would be on the other side of this so-called ‘war’. And I know that this is exactly why some Christians show such hatred toward my patron—I understand how his actions could be damaging. I can see how they would come to think that my god has nothing to offer them except mental anguish, and how the ‘opposing’ faith would be more appealing. After all, it does present itself as an ideal faith, centered around love and forgiveness. But just like any belief system, my own included, it has its flaws. It just depends on what sorts of flaws and faults you’re willing to live with—which ones don’t conflict with your own ideas of morality?

So call it a war if you will. Hate my god all you like. Plot his downfall, rally against my work, claim victory over a battle of your own making. 

Its admirable that anyone would believe so strongly in something, that they would devote themselves wholeheartedly to a cause.

But know that nothing is ever as simple as good vs. evil. If you want to call it a war, you should be willing to acknowledge that your own side has its own fair share of imperfections, of actions and principles that may be considered ‘unjust’ by others who do not share your ideals. If you aren’t willing to acknowledge the faults of your own belief system, of your own god, who are you to be criticizing anyone else’s? This doesn’t just apply to Christians—I’ve seen pagans just as guilty of ignorance, of launching smear campaigns against monotheistic faiths and against my own deity while pretending that their own belief system was the epitome of perfection. It may be perfect for you as an individual, but don’t go imposing your ideals of perfection on everyone else.

7 thoughts on “If you’re going to call it ‘spiritual warfare’, don’t romanticize it

  1. journeymaid says:

    Thank you for writing this post, I find it both inspiring and uplifting! I realize that I know very little of what your type of Luciferian is all about. After all, there are so many branches of faith! And the type I’ve mostly read about in the past is where the devotees pose themselves at the center of the universe with the “right” to do anything (including murder, rape, theft or whatever) without any regard of others. Now, I take it your branch of faith is quite different from that? I am most intrigued, and would love to read more about this, I’ll have to go looking through your older posts to see what you’ve already written… I have so many questions! =)

    • Ask away! That’s what I’m here for =]

      Though I’m not quite sure what you mean by other luciferians who claim the right to act in such a manner, I can tell you this–not every Luciferian is the same. While I won’t deny that our faith is a highly selfish one, you’ll find that a lot of us hold ourselves to high standards and make the effort to being a force of change in the world.

      • journeymaid says:

        Great! Now first of all, have I understood it correctly that Luciferianism (weird word, btw) is NOT the same as Satanism? Weirdly enough, the most in-dept and trustworthy info I’ve ever gotten about Satanism and Devilworship was in connection to my christian confirmation, at age 14. There was this one guy helping with our training that had moved in very diverse circles, and had quite a lot of personal experience with the darker side of society as well. Once, he told us about the difference between devil worshipers and satanists. Now I have no clue if this applies only to Sweden or if it’s really the same everywhere, but this is basically what he told us:
        > Don’t get devil worshipers and satanists mixed up, as the former worships evil and destruction, while the latter is all about putting the ego first in all cases regardless of how it affects others.
        > Beware of devil worshipers, because they are the people who might hurt you just for the sake of inflicting pain and spreading anguish.
        > Satanists reject the notion of good and bad, doing whatever they feel will benefit them. So if you meet any you don’t exactly have to run away screaming, just don’t ever trust them because they wont think twice about betraying you if they feel like it.

        Now first of all, isn’t it amazing that we actually got that nuanced a message, from the people working at church? I gotta say, the Church of Sweden has some really great aspects… But what do you say, is this accurate in the light of what you’ve learned? And if I’m right about there being a difference between being a satanist and a luciferan, what is it really?

        I get the feeling satanists often think of Satan as a symbol and a concept rather than an actual deity, in contrast to Luciferans who actually acknowledge Lucifer as an independant being. Is this true, or am I just imagining it?

        Well, that was a long comment and I might still come back for more, but I really gotta run now!
        Love and light
        Journeymaid

      • The differences between those three terms (luciferianism, devil worship, and satanism) are complicated. Some will use all three synonymously, others like me do not consider them to be the same thing. Lets start with the broadest of the three–Satanism.

        Satanists are mostly atheistic. They see Satan as a symbol, and their faith is heavily focused on the here and now–the materialistic, the pleasurable, the self-serving. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing–its really just self worship. Then there are the theistic Satanists who see Satan as a real being.

        This is where it starts to get fuzzy. Theistic Satanists may or may not differentiate between Lucifer and Satan, but I and many Luciferians do. We see Satan as the figurehead of carnality and of the more…worldly issues, so to speak. He represents embracing what life has to offer, and living for the self. The more fervent theistic satanists may call themselves devil worshippers. Just as with any faith, there are extremists and radicals who will present their faith in a less-than-pleasant way, which has been the case for ‘devil-worshippers’. Just because the ones you hear about on the news are insane and psychopathic doesn’t mean they all are.

        Luciferians can also be either theistic or atheistic. Whether we consider him a symbol or an actual god, he represents knowledge in all it’s forms. As members of the left hand path, the majority of us strive for apotheosis–to become like gods, knowing good and evil. We hold ourselves accountable for our actions, and even theistic luciferians like myself rely largely on our own potential and effort. Lucifer is a guide and mentor, but ultimately my faith is what I make of it.

        While I have seen a few theistic Luciferians claim to worship Lu, I myself do not use the term ‘worship’ to describe my devotion to him. Worship has connotations of submission and hierarchy and Lu has beaten it into my head enough times that we are equals in potential.

        While I may differentiate between all these terms, I am aware that the majority see them as interchangeable. When they speak of satan or the devil or I can usually safely assume that they are also referring to Lucifer. When they refer to my practices as worship, however, I do make the effort to try to inform them on why that is not an acceptable term for my devotion.

        I hope this all made sense!

  2. Hellsmedic says:

    I’m a little behind because life ate me, but I have to say I enjoyed this post immensely, and thank you for putting it up. I think that’s another reason why we have so many that see us as ‘anti’ christian. It’s not so much being ‘anti’ christian as it is ‘anti-everything that doesn’t require you to use your brain!’ -blind faith without recurrent self-examination and the effect you have on others being one of them!

  3. Isaac Alsop says:

    Interesting. In most wars that is the case, but humor me. If there WAS an all powerful, all just, all merciful and all loving god, it would be, well, perfect. And so, I believe there IS a god of such a nature. And he commits no atrocities. Now you are correct that we all commit atrocities in the name of our patrons, but the patron itself might not have. Lucifer has. God has not Theoretically, if a man or woman followed God PERFECTLY they would never commit atrocities. of course, that is impossible, but a goal we should strive to. Interesting blog. I think I will subscribe to it, but only for the purpose of understanding the mindset of Luciferians and understand what you guys think of certain things. Feel free to email me. I will TRY to reply if you do.

    • And I would agree with you, to a certain extent. God himself does not directly commit questionable acts, however scripture tends to support the idea that he indirectly facilitates and carries them out through the extensions of his Will (i.e. the heavenly host).

      I would also agree that perhaps if humanity were to perfectly submit to God then we would not commit the atrocities that we do either, nor would we drive God to intervene indirectly with those questionable acts in the hopes that we might choose to obey and submit. Indeed, some luciferians and theistic satanists believe that Lucifer fell because he refused to bow to what he recognized as flawed beings, not capable of living up to their full potential as God’s utmost creation. The gift of knowledge and our subsequent Fall was thus an opportunity to choose to obey and submit to God of our own free will, while recognizing the sorrows that disobedience would bring.and faced with the temptation to stray from His Will, so that our obedience and love would be tested and strengthened through adversity. This is the role that Ha-Satan takes within the Jewish mythos–as divine Adversary and Accuser on God’s behalf.

      I would be more than happy to have an email conversation with you, however your phrasing does make me wonder if perhaps you expect me to try to change your mind about what you believe. That is not the case–I have never nor will I ever try to ‘convert’ anyone. That in itself goes against Luciferian ideals.

      That being said, I can answer any questions you might have, and if you have particular points you would like to civilly discuss, my email is awakeninlight@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

