Rebellion

Sometimes I wonder why I ended up as a Luciferian. If I hadn’t been tapped on the shoulder by Lu, would I still have somehow found my way onto this path?

And then I stop to think about the central issue behind Lu’s mythos—rebellion.

Rebellion is as much a part of my daily life as it is a part of my spirituality.

Rebellion is in my blood. My mere existence is a rebellion against the attempted genocide of my ancestors. My culture and traditions are a rebellion against the attempted erasure and assimilation of my people. The color of my skin is a rebellion against society’s ideals of beauty. My home is a rebellion against those who claim I don’t belong here. My lack of shame toward the fact that my family came here illegally is a rebellion—a rebellion against the very people who funded the civil war that tore my family’s homeland apart, the same people who now urge us to return.

I am a rebellion against the stereotypes of my people. I am a rebellion against the idea that I must be uneducated and lazy. I rebel against the notion that all my people are all criminals, that we’re all gang members and cholos.

I rebel against the idea that we have nothing to offer the community, that all we do is take away jobs and homes. I rebel against the thought that an indigenous school of resistance can accomplish nothing. Please, come tell me that to my face and I will show you the marshlands we have recovered, the GMOs we have stopped from entering our food supply, the injustices we have fought against and won.

I am a rebellion against the stereotypes of my faith. I rebel against the stereotype that I must be intolerant and hateful.

So maybe I’ll never be called to follow in Lu’s footsteps and rally troops or lead wars against tyrants—that isn’t the sort of rebellion I am called to do. My responsibility to my community, my people, my calpulli, and my god call for other acts of rebellion, ranging from protests and rallies against injustice, to much more innate forms of revolt as those mentioned above. Rebellion doesn’t have to be solely about violence and warfare.

I believe that those of us who are devoted to deities end up reflecting the qualities of those gods, but I also believe the opposite is true—that we are called by those that see themselves within us, however small a part.

8 thoughts on “Rebellion

  1. Heather S says:

    Reblogged this on Loki's Bruid and commented:
    This is just beautiful, on many levels.

  2. Catherine says:

    Hello! I’ve given you another inspiring blogger award. http://13belladonnadrive.wordpress.com/

  3. seastruckbythecrossroads says:

    I think this is very true. While we also get shaped and attracted to deities who teach us or represent what we lack of, most often we form the deepest connection with deities whose imsge is somewhat present in us. It makes me to wonder how much truth there’s in the concept of us being made in their image (although I also believe sacred animals might carry part of the essence of certain deities too).

  4. You Nahua? I have a bit of Nahua blood in me but not as much as I wish to have. I also believe in Luci and I also believe in some Mexica Gods. My fam came here illegally too but thankfully the amnesty allowed em to stay.

    • No, I don’t think I have any Nahua in me. I’m Salvadorean, so I mostly have Maya and Pipil blood. But I’m involved in Danza Azteca, so the teteo play a large part in my spirituality.

      • Regardless that’s interesting ^.^ I like your blog a lot, that’s good that we are both hispanic, I hope to read more from you and your relationship with Luci.

  5. lokisdattir says:

    Reblogged this on Crow Roads and commented:
    This is gold. I seriously think Lucifer is just another aspect of Jesus- I don’t believe in the Christian version of the Devil, unless it’s Halloween and he’s feeling rather uncreative with his costumes. Normally, he would be kind and zen, kind of an Eastern monk, perhaps, but if he did have to lead a war, he would be a warlord on the battlefield and do whatever sacrifices necessary to ensure the most beneficial outcome occurs, even if it means sacrificing himself, or perhaps those he loved. He’s noble, I think, and descended to hell to guard and watch over the most wretched of souls in hopes they will someday heal and ascend.

    Studying him and his story, from Tammuz of the Mesopotamians to Sammael’s intersection of Canaanite paganism and the budding Judaic movement has been a voyage through time. I’ve found roots I didn’t even know existed.

    So much of America is about roadtripping- through history and time, discovering your past. Rootwork. We need to honor who we are, where we came from, and simultaneously live in the moment. That’s the biggest lesson Death’s taught me, to live. I need to get off my butt and do more of it.

  6. Mark says:

    I also feel near to Lucifer, cos I seem to be a rebel like you, dear sister (if you allow to say so). I was rebelling against the overorganized organized religion I grew up in, and further on against destruction of wonderful wild nature. Lu isn’t satisfied with the bourgeois and mainstream order. He (or she) wants the better, the more alive, more natural, the deepest, true life, not second hand.
    Originally Jesus also was a rebel living an alternative lifestyle and tried to give another image of god the father. But he was only human, a child of his time. He spoke a lot of love, was on the side of those who were worth nothing, but also invented the eternal punishment for those, who don’t believe in him (Mark 16.16.; This was not me!). He was very contradictory, but a truth seeker. For me, my most important god and patron Lu is a similar character, but absolutely free and independent. The organized religion transformed the man Jesus to a saviour and god and Lucifer to a monster. I think this is what the bourgeois majority always does: Instead of taking somebody as an alternative example to live, they idealize him to an unattainable (so he is no longer dangerous) or demonize him. Both happened as is known.

    May your deepest honest will be done!

Leave a Reply

