Applied Luciferianism Project : Faith

This is another of those values I wouldn’t have necessarily thought was Luciferian in nature. But I’m not referring to blind faith in the sense of placing one’s whole life and trust in the hands of another, deity or not. Instead, I want to talk about faith rooted in hope, and inspired through action.

Faith is an integral part in Lucifer’s own Fall—the faith that zir struggle and loss would not be in vain, that there was more to life than serving, that zir own potential was greater than what zir maker claimed it was, that humanity was worth the effort of granting them the knowledge to become as gods themselves.

The whole Luciferian concept of wanting humanity to reach its full potential is grounded in the faith that we will use that knowledge for good. Of course, ‘good’ here is subjective, but in general I’m referring to having faith that humanity will not use it to cause unnecessary suffering in others or in one another

I’m not going to lie, it’s hard to keep that sort of faith alive. It’s hard to hold on to the hope that mankind can manage to do something other than just fuck things up, and cause ourselves pain and suffering. It’s difficult to be optimistic about using our knowledge for good in a world where the desire for wealth, power, and control corrupts society, ends innocent lives, and subverts the free will of others.

But I guess this is where one has to look at things on a smaller scale, since the bigger picture can seem so overwhelmingly disheartening, starting on an individual basis. There are a lot of wonderful people out there, people who restore my faith in humanity through their own small actions. These can be acts of kindness, inspiration, or even just sheer human emotion. There’s something incredibly moving about someone being so caught up in their own joy that it infects others, or of one’s devotion to their fellow man. Truth be told, I have a great respect for the stories of Jesus as being a servant to the people, and to those that seek to follow in his footsteps through living as he did. While I may not agree with all of his motives, I do think there is value upholding his actions as exemplary.

Then there are the accounts of humanity’s sheer resiliencethe resistance of a people not willing to back down even in the face of adversity and devastation, of clinging to the hope that there is something worth fighting for. And not merely surviving through adversity, but flourishing through it and because of it. We’re stubborn and curious and innovative and eager to prove ourselves, and are all the better because of these things. We get caught up in our own emotions, and though we may let them override common sense at times, our passions inspire and create.

But on the flip side, faith also encompasses having faith in one’s own capabilities. This ties into pride, which I’ll discuss in a separate entry, but also into recognizing one’s own self worth and contributions. For example, I struggled with this when I first started blogging—who was I to be offering this sort of information, what did I know anyways? Surely there must be other Luciferians out there who were more qualified to educate the misinformed about what this path was all about, ones more well-spoken and knowledgeable than I.

But then again, my perspective of Luciferianism is rather unique. For one, it’s theistic and combined with the devotion of a deity. And it is also tied into Christianity more so than most other Luciferians might be comfortable with, case in point being my above comments regarding Jesus.

And as I’ve come to recognize, even though there might be others who are in more suitable positions to run this sort of blog, to the best of my knowledge they’re not doing it. So that leaves me to fill the position to the best of my ability.

I guess this all just boils down to having faith in my Work, that I’m not doing it for nothing. It also goes back to grounding my spiritual faith in practice, in living my faith, and through that I hope that I can be a source of inspiration to others and be a small part in that overall restoration of faith in humanity. 

Leave a Reply

