An Explanation of Sorts

I’ve gotten some rather distressed messages lately from my followers, asking about the direction I’ve been going with my recent posts. Although they haven’t directly said it, I think they’re concerned that I’m ‘repackaging’ the Abrahamic faiths into a Luciferian-friendly exterior. I think they’re concerned that I’m focusing on Lucifer’s worship and love of God too much, which is admittedly rather unheard of within Luciferianism, and accepting that YHWH is just, good, perfect and should be trusted implicitly.

Basically, if I’m saying that Lucifer loves and worships YHWH, what purpose does his rebellion serve? Why should we look up to him within a belief system that gains its strength from his revolt, and from his doubt and questioning?

First off, I just want to point out that I know my recent perspectives are highly un-Luciferian in nature, at least to the majority of Luciferians who would not agree with such statements. I have never, and will never, claim that my beliefs and viewpoints are characteristic of all Luciferians, or Luciferianism as a whole.  

From the beginning, my path has been about questioning and doubting. This has not changed. Whereas at first I was led to question the validity of viewing Lucifer as the enemy, I’m now prompted to question the Luciferian tendency of viewing God as the enemy. For me, it has never been about finding out who as ‘wrong’ or ‘right’—I’m just trying to figure out the entirety of the story. From there, I’ll make my own judgments. Shaping my beliefs off the biases of Luciferians is no better than shaping it off the biases of Christians.

Luciferianism as a faith is highly critical of stagnation. My posts are no more than a roadmap of where I came from, and where I am now—they’re not a final destination. My perspectives and thoughts will inevitably change and morph, be broken and rebuilt—and that is what keeps it growing and thriving. 

But apart from my faith as a Luciferian, I’m also a devotee of Lucifer. I’m lead to try to understand each and every aspect of his, from humble lover of god, to the Adversary of man, to the rebel angel who slew his brothers, to the Throneless King, and everything in between.  If I were to only honor one part of him, strive to take in only those certain qualities, I would reflect only a portion of him. That is not what I seek to do. I cannot pick and choose only the parts of him that I agree with, or am comfortable with, and still claim to embody him.

In regards to the possibility of Lucifer still loving YHWH, does rebelling necessarily negate all love? Does love mean we are blind to another’s flaws, or do we love them in spite of those flaws? Why does it seem impossible that Lucifer may love his God while still acknowledging his faults? I personally don’t see how Lucifer’s devotion to his god diminishes the importance of his other aspects, or makes them seem inferior in any way. If anything, I find it even more inspiring that he would make the decision to rebel, to fall, to disagree and question in spite of the love that encompassed his entire being.

2 thoughts on “An Explanation of Sorts

  1. The Rose Bell says:

    I don’t think it’s absurd at all to focus on his love of YHWH. It makes more sense to me to include it in Luciferianism–otherwise you’re divorcing Lucifer from the context of where he came from. You cannot separate his fall from the reasons for it. Yes he was challenging God’s decision/judgment–but out of the sincere passion that God’s greatness is to be upheld and that he is beyond human worth [at least that is my understanding of the story]. Luci isn’t a rebel without cause. Some time ago I read that in an Islamic context–this aspect of him is actually upheld (while he is still denounced as the fallen angel, his sincerity and devotion to Allah is in someways–honorable. Granted that was only one source and I’m sure doesn’t speak for muslims on the whole on the topic of Luci–but I’ve always found that idea to make the most sense. Otherwise–who is Lucifer? If he didn’t have such a strong relationship to YHWH–there would have never been a fall and a cause for Luciferianism to exist.)

    Anyway–my point is that even if that is not mainstream Luciferian ideology–I support the notion, and don’t think its “un-luciferian” at all. He is of Abrahamic faiths–you can’t practice any kind of “worship” in a vacuum. That’s like worshiping a greek god and not knowing any of the myths–you hardly know the god’s identity at all. (Yes, personal experiences with the god/deity/angel/etc constitutes some knowledge of who they are, but you’re lacking a vital understanding of their identity if you exclude such parts of their history).

    • Yes! That’s exactly the point I’m trying to get at =]

      And the Islamic context you’re talking about might be through Sufism, which is a particular esoteric sect of Islam. They’re the ones that first introduced the idea of Iblis falling due to the intensity of his devotion, which was and continues to be a rather controversial perspective to more orthodox Muslims.

Leave a Reply

