Devotional Luciferianism

Luciferianism is an umbrella term of sorts.While there are certain beliefs that could be applied to all Luciferians, and specific values that we all hold dear, how we carry out our practice differs from person to person. Some may seek self-growth and knowledge through the practice of magic (which can further be separated into ‘high’ or ‘low’ magic), others may strive for apotheosis through complete detachment from theistic perspectives, and still others might revere Lucifer and his mythology in the agnostic sense and use it to guide their choices in life.  Some of the more well known branches (in no particular order) are:

  • Ceremonial Luciferianism
  • Luciferian Witchcraft
  • Atheistic Luciferianism
  • Theistic Luciferianism
  • Monadic Luciferianism
  • Gnostic Luciferianism

 Personally, I don’t fit neatly into any of these established branches. I don’t really incorporate magic of any sort into my practice. I’m rather intrigued by Gnosticism, but I haven’t studied it in depth or know enough to comfortably call myself a Gnostic Luciferian. While I am polytheistic and do believe in a ‘Lucifer’ entity (well, to an extent—I’m actually rather agnostic when it comes to this), I approach Luciferianism as a practice in a more atheistic manner. I seek for practical applications of the values imbedded within the belief system, and use them as tools for self-growth.  

My beliefs are also largely shaped by contemplation on Abrahamic texts and philosophies, including those of more esoteric sects within the ‘big three’ religions. There’s a particular emphasis on the Catholic Catechisms, but that’s because it is the faith I grew up in and am most familiar with.

And as I’ve mentioned countless times before, my practice is hardly the ‘be all, end all’ of Luciferianism. In fact, I consider it a minority within a minority belief system. So I thought it would be best if I refined my practice by giving it its own identifier, distinguishing it from the various other practices and branches that fall under Luciferianism. 

I settled on ‘Devotional Luciferianism’ for a number of reasons. Devotion suggests ‘love, loyalty, or enthusiasm for a person, activity, or cause’, which I think accurately encompasses the entirety of my practice in that neither Lucifer nor the atheistic values of Luciferianism are the singular centerpoint of my faith. While I may be uphold the value system to the highest regard, I am also utterly in love with the god who inspired those qualities in the first place. 

Through learning and knowing more of my god, I simultaneously learn more about myself. While this may be in part because of my desire to reflect the qualities I see within Lucifer, it is also because the more I try to understand Lucifer, the more I must engage in self-reflection. It requires an entirely different perspective from that which I grew up with, and it consequentially brings questions of my own beliefs up to the forefront. 

While Lucifer is said to have sought his own personal advancement, seeking to be on equal terms with God, through tempting humanity with knowledge he also aided their own advancement. This is how I view my own path—simply because I am working towards self-growth and apotheosis doesn’t mean that my own Work can’t contribute to his. Through honoring him, I can be equally honoring myself and vice-versa. When even my offerings to him must in some way be of benefit to myself, I think it’s only fitting that I in essence be a devotional to him and his Work, through embodying his values and furthering my own self.

One thought on “Devotional Luciferianism

  1. will9baker says:

    Beautiful! I too am hard to confine to one branch/sect of Luciferian, I have a distinctive universalistic and chaote spirituality approach, and my theology is Panen-Deism and arhetypal polytheism{I focus mainly on Panen-Deism though}. I suppose the cloest approximation for me is neo-gnostic, but I have’nt studied gnosticism enough to only cvall myself such. It’s an influence. Though I am close to what the Neo-Luciferian[neo-gnostic} Church of Denamrks basic principles. I study the occult and utilize magick here and there, but not often, I am actually more devotionaal as well, maybe mystic or spiritual-philosophical? Hmmm? Luciferianism has it’s fingers in many pies as I saw one Luciferian author say, each Luciferian does as well, we may have sect/type INCLINATIONS..but I suspect few of us are hardline any one type/sect of Luciferianism.

    Anyways, great article. 🙂

    LVX Populi!
    The Peoples Luciferian

Leave a Reply

