Social justice DOES have a place within Luciferianism

I don’t even know why this needs to be discussed, but clearly it does. I’ve heard one too many renditions of “Get your social justice bullshit out of -insert belief system here-“, and I honestly cannot understand why someone would think that civil rights and human dignity would sully a religion or spirituality, Luciferianism in particular.

The statement that social justice does not belong within Luciferianism implies that religion and spirituality are free from intersectionality. It implies that my experiences as a woman, as a person of color, as a Latina, as a daughter of refugees should not impact my beliefs. It implies that these experiences have no place within my spirituality—that my hopes and dreams, my memories, my fears, my identity does not belong here. What then am I left with? What should my conception of Luciferianism consist of, if not this? For a belief system which is so often defended by others as being based on personal perspectives and experiences, I find it ridiculous that this would be denied to me. I will not apologize for integrating my identity and experiences within my faith, nor will I apologize for applying the mythos and values I hold so dear within Luciferianism to the world I live in. On that same vein, I do not believe it is a valid excuse for someone to claim disinterest or wholly detach themselves from matters of social justice due to a lack of personal experience—social disparity affects everyone, and often we are unaware of our part within the system because we are not the ones affected negatively.

I stand by my previous statement: Any version of Luciferianism that shuns the promotion and advancement of social justice, or fails to incorporate even the barest minimum of it (which includes introspective critique of problematic learned behaviors and perspectives) is a version that I do not want to associate myself with. If that makes me ‘exclusionary’ or what have you, then so be it. I have no time or patience for a form of Luciferianism that deems humanity to be irrelevant (or is complacent with the treatment of certain human lives as less deserving than others), despite the use of mythos and deities who fall within the roles of Champions of Mankind. I have no wish to align myself with a form that preaches “freedom and enlightenment”, all the while supporting and enjoying the benefits of systems built from the subjugation of others. A Lightbringer who sheds no light or truth on matters of worldly inequality and injustice is not one I consider worthy of my devotion. Why would I hold any respect for a Lightbearer who challenges and defies an unjust ‘divine’ hierarchy or authority figure, yet does not stand for the same values when faced with human issues?

I do believe that the majority of luciferians want to have an impact on this world. There is a desire to initiate change for the better, even if that change begins and ends only within ourselves—but this cannot happen unless we acknowledge that there are things that need changing or developing. We need to talk about the flaws and faults that exist, to examine them at every angle, before we can even consider how to go about working on them.

Leave a Reply

